Virginia State Endowment

The Virginia State Endowment was established as the Flora Burns / Virginia State Scholarship in honor of Flora by the Virginia State Council, May 5, 1999.  The first scholarship was awarded in 2002.  February 28, 2011 the name of the endowment was changed to its current name.

Flora Burns was the ESA International Council President in 2000, and was installed in Memphis, Tennessee.  She and the International Board took the membership on “A Journey to Awaken the Light” using the sail boat and light house as symbols.

Flora joined ESA in 1969, pledged by Margaret Neilson, and has served in all chapter and state offices.  In 1979, she served as the Virginia State President.  Flora earned her First Pearl Award and has completed her 5th Degree Pallas Athene.  She is a member of Beta Kappa Chapter, which was chartered in 1968 in Virginia Beach, Virginia.  Flora has pledged 20 members to ESA membership.

Flora is a strong supporter of the ESA Foundation and all of their projects.  Flora has served as an ESA Foundation State Counselor and on the Scholarship Processing Committee.  She has also served on the ESA Foundation Board of Directors. 

  • GPA
    • Min: 3.00
  • State
    • Virginia